Meeting Minutes

Commission on Statewide Law Enforcement Standards of Conduct and Discipline

Date: March 7, 2022

Time: 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm

Location: Virtual via Zoom

Call to Order, Roll Call and Introductions

Attendees

Members in attendance: Chief Timothy Addleman, Tarron Anderson, Sheriff Angela Brandenburg, Laura Fine, Jerry Granderson, Anil Karia, Mark Makler, Representative Ron Noble, Steven Schuback, Michael Slauson, Chief John Teague, Benny Williams, Michael Wu

Others: Attorney General Ellen Rosenblum, Kimberly McCullough, Fred Boss, Toni Kemple

Members not in attendance: Senator Floyd Prozanski, Umatilla County Commissioner John Shafer

SUBSTANTIVE DISCUSSIONS:

The meeting was recorded in full and is available on request by emailing ORLawEnfCommission@doj.state.or.us.

MOTIONS AND VOTE RESULTS

1. Motion that the Commission elect Michael Slauson from DOJ and Jerry Granderson from DPSST to serve as cochairpersons of the Commission. The motion carried with 12 in favor and 0 against by roll call vote.

| Name | Yes | No | Abstain |
|----------------------------|--------------|----|---------|
| Chief Timothy Addleman | \checkmark | | |
| Tarron Anderson | ✓ | | |
| Sheriff Angela Brandenburg | ✓ | | |
| Laura Fine | ✓ | | |
| Jerry Granderson | ✓ | | |
| Anil Karia | ✓ | | |
| Mark Makler | ✓ | | |
| Steven Schuback | ✓ | | |
| Michael Slauson | ✓ | | |
| Chief John Teague | ✓ | | |
| Benny Williams | ✓ | | |
| Michael Wu | ✓ | | |

2. Motion to approve the Interagency Agreement, as initially proposed, with the Department of Justice. The motion carried with 9 in favor and 2 against by roll call vote.

| Name | Yes | No | Abstain |
|----------------------------|----------|----------|---------|
| Chief Timothy Addleman | ✓ | | |
| Sheriff Angela Brandenburg | ✓ | | |
| Laura Fine | ✓ | | |
| Jerry Granderson | ✓ | | |
| Anil Karia | | ✓ | |
| Mark Makler | | ✓ | |
| Steven Schuback | ✓ | | |
| Michael Slauson | ✓ | | |
| Chief John Teague | ✓ | | |
| Benny Williams | ✓ | | |
| Michael Wu | ✓ | | |

3. Motion appointing Fred Boss as Executive Director of the Commission. The motion carried with 11 in favor and 0 against by roll call vote.

| Name | Yes | No | Abstain |
|----------------------------|-----|----|---------|
| Chief Timothy Addleman | ✓ | | |
| Sheriff Angela Brandenburg | ✓ | | |
| Laura Fine | ✓ | | |
| Jerry Granderson | ✓ | | |
| Anil Karia | ✓ | | |
| Mark Makler | ✓ | | |
| Steven Schuback | ✓ | | |
| Michael Slauson | ✓ | | |
| Chief John Teague | ✓ | | |
| Benny Williams | ✓ | | |
| Michael Wu | ✓ | | |

4. Motion to appoint Toni Kemple as Administrative Rules Coordinator. The motion carried with 11 in favor and 0 against by roll call vote.

| Name | Yes | No | Abstain |
|----------------------------|-----|----|---------|
| Chief Timothy Addleman | ✓ | | |
| Sheriff Angela Brandenburg | ✓ | | |
| Laura Fine | ✓ | | |
| Jerry Granderson | ✓ | | |
| Anil Karia | ✓ | | |

| Name | Yes | No | Abstain |
|-------------------|--------------|----|---------|
| Mark Makler | \checkmark | | |
| Steven Schuback | ✓ | | |
| Michael Slauson | ✓ | | |
| Chief John Teague | ✓ | | |
| Benny Williams | ✓ | | |
| Michael Wu | ✓ | | |

5. Motion to delegate rulemaking authority to Fred Boss, Executive Director. The motion carried with 11 votes in favor and 0 votes against by roll call vote.

| Name | Yes | No | Abstain |
|----------------------------|--------------|----|---------|
| Chief Timothy Addleman | ✓ | | |
| Sheriff Angela Brandenburg | ✓ | | |
| Laura Fine | ✓ | | |
| Jerry Granderson | \checkmark | | |
| Anil Karia | ✓ | | |
| Mark Makler | ✓ | | |
| Steven Schuback | ✓ | | |
| Michael Slauson | ✓ | | |
| Chief John Teague | ✓ | | |
| Benny Williams | ✓ | | |
| Michael Wu | ✓ | | |

6. Motion to adopt Attorney General's Model Rules for Rulemaking. (OAR 265-001-0001) The motion carried with 11 votes in favor and 0 votes against by roll call vote.

| Name | Yes | No | Abstain |
|----------------------------|-----|----|---------|
| Chief Timothy Addleman | ✓ | | |
| Sheriff Angela Brandenburg | ✓ | | |
| Laura Fine | ✓ | | |
| Jerry Granderson | ✓ | | |
| Anil Karia | ✓ | | |
| Mark Makler | ✓ | | |
| Steven Schuback | ✓ | | |
| Michael Slauson | ✓ | | |
| Chief John Teague | ✓ | | |
| Benny Williams | ✓ | | |
| Michael Wu | ✓ | | |

7. Motion to adopt Notice of Proposed Rules. (265-001-0002) The motion carried with 11 votes in favor and 0 votes against.

| Name | Yes | No | Abstain |
|----------------------------|-----|----|---------|
| Chief Timothy Addleman | ✓ | | |
| Sheriff Angela Brandenburg | ✓ | | |
| Laura Fine | ✓ | | |
| Jerry Granderson | ✓ | | |
| Anil Karia | ✓ | | |
| Mark Makler | ✓ | | |
| Steven Schuback | ✓ | | |
| Michael Slauson | ✓ | | |
| Chief John Teague | ✓ | | |
| Benny Williams | ✓ | | |
| Michael Wu | ✓ | | |

8. Motion to adopt public records request fee rule. (265-001-0003) The motion carried with 11 votes in favor and 0 votes against.

| Name | Yes | No | Abstain |
|----------------------------|----------|----|---------|
| Chief Timothy Addleman | ✓ | | |
| Sheriff Angela Brandenburg | ✓ | | |
| Laura Fine | ✓ | | |
| Jerry Granderson | ✓ | | |
| Anil Karia | ✓ | | |
| Mark Makler | ✓ | | |
| Steven Schuback | ✓ | | |
| Michael Slauson | ✓ | | |
| Chief John Teague | ✓ | | |
| Benny Williams | ✓ | | |
| Michael Wu | √ | | |

DOCUMENTS REFERRED TO

The following documents were discussed at the meeting and are available on request by emailing ORLawEnfCommission@doj.state.or.us

- Interagency Agreement as proposed by the Department of Justice
- Interagency Agreement as amended by Commissioner Mackler
- HB 4008 Enrolled 2022
- HB 5202 Preliminary Budget Report, pg. 76
 https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2022R1/Measures/Analysis/HB5202

Next Meeting:

Date: TBD Time: TBD

Location: TBD