# Commission on Statewide Law Enforcement Standards of Conduct and

Discipline

## Chapter 265

Division 1 Procedural Rules

#### 265-001-0001 Model Rules of Procedure

Pursuant to ORS 183.341, the Commission adopts the Attorney General's Model Rules of Rulemaking under the Administrative Procedures Act as amended and effective March 1, 2022.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 243.812 (12) Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 243.812 (12) History: CSLES 1-2022, adopt filed 03/28/2022, effective 03/28/2022

#### 265-001-0005 Notice of Proposed Rules

Prior to adoption, amendment or repeal of any permanent rule, the Commission shall give notice of the intended action:

(1) In the Secretary of State's bulletin referred to in ORS 183.360 at least 21 days prior to the effective date of the rule;

(2) By mailing or e-mailing a copy of the Notice to persons on the mailing list established pursuant to ORS 183.335 (8) at least 28 days prior to the effective date of the rule;

(3) By mailing or e-mailing a copy of the notice to the legislators specified in ORS 183.335(15) at least 49 days before the effective date of the rule; and

- (4) By mailing, e-mailing, or furnishing a copy of the notice to:
- (a) The Associated Press;
- (b) The Capitol Press Room;
- (c) Each District Attorney in the state;
- (d) Each Sheriff in the state;
- (e) Each Chief of Police in the state;
- (f) The Superintendent of the Oregon State Police; and

(g) Each civilian or community oversight board, agency, or review body as defined in ORS 243.812(15)(b).

#### Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 243.812 (12) History: CSLES 3-2022, temporary adopt filed 03/28/2022, effective 03/28/2022 through 09/23/2022

### 265-001-0010 Public Records Requests

(1) A request to inspect or obtain copies of a public record or information from public records shall be made in writing and must include the following information:

(a) Name, address, email address, and telephone number of the requester; and

(b) A specific description of the records requested and time period records were produced.

(2) The Commission will charge fees pursuant to ORS 192.324 and the Oregon Department of Administrative Services Standardized Public Records Requests Fees and Charges Statewide Policy 107-001-030 and ensure that all charges reflect no more than the actual cost to the Commission of producing and processing the public records request. This includes fees for:

(a) Staff time necessary to identify, locate, summarize or compile the record as requested;

(b) Attorney fees and staff time associated with the screening of materials or redacting information that is exempt from disclosures

(c) Supervision of on-site inspection of the public record by the requester;

(d) Customary fee per page or other media for reproduction, handling and assembling of copies to be provided; and

(e) Postage or similar expenses and special supplies or services necessary to furnish the records.

(3) The requester must pay all fees for access of a public record in advance.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 243.812 (12)

History:

CSLES 3-2022, temporary adopt filed 03/28/2022, effective 03/28/2022 through 09/23/2022